2016-17 Team Profile: Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem

Jul 25, 2016 by Eurocupbasketball.com Print
2016-17 Team Profile: Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem

Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem used its new arena to its advantage in the Eurocup by winning four of its five regular season home games. However the team did drop its first four road games and found itself in a 2-5 hole with three games remaining. Jerusalem bounced back with victories over eventual champion Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul and AEK Athens. Coming into the regular season finale, Jerusalem romped past Krasny Oktyabr Volgograd by 21 on the road and got the help it needed to clinch a berth in the Last 32. However the team ran out of gas and lost all six of its Last 32 games to bow out of the competition.


2005-06 Euroleague 3-7 Regular Season
TOTAL: 3-7


2015-16 Eurocup 5-11 Last 32
2014-15 Eurocup 2-8 Regular Season
2013-14 Eurocup 12-8 Quarterfinal
2012-13 Eurocup 3-3 Regular Season
2011-12 Eurocup 2-4 Regular Season
2010-11 Eurocup 3-3 Regular Season
2009-10 Eurocup 8-6 Quarterfinal
2007-08 ULEB Cup 6-6 Last 32
2006-07 ULEB Cup 8-6 Quarterfinal
2005-06 ULEB Cup 10-6 Semifinal
2004-05 ULEB Cup 6-4 Regular Season
2003-04 ULEB Cup 10-7 Champion
TOTAL: 75-72


Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem is enjoying a fine run as a well-funded domestic power and a dangerous foe in Europe, but it was a long time in the making. Organized basketball in Jerusalem dates back to before the establishment of the State of Israel. Jerusalem was among the first teams when the Israeli League was founded in 1955, but it was not until the 1990s that the club became the clear No. 2 in Israeli basketball behind Maccabi Tel Aviv. Star guard Adi Gordon and forward Billy Thompson led Jerusalem to its first two titles, the 1996 and 1997 Israeli Cups. Jerusalem reached the 1997 Saporta Cup quarterfinals and played the Euroleague for the first time in the 1997-98 season. In 1999, Jerusalem beat out Maccabi for first place in the Israeli League regular season, but came up short in the playoff finals. The club played the original Euroleague season in 2000-01. In 2002, Meir Tapiro helped Jerusalem climb to the Saporta Cup semifinals and two years later, Willie Solomon, Doron Sheffer, Kelly McCarty and Tunji Awojobi led Jerusalem past mighty Real Madrid in the ULEB Cup title game in Charleroi, Belgium, for its first – and to date only – European trophy. Jerusalem reached the ULEB Cup semifinal in 2006 and lifted the Israeli Cup again in 2007 and 2008. The club remained a regular in the Israeli playoff semifinals and even made a pair of quarterfinal runs in the Eurocup in 2010 and 2014. After Ori Allon led a new ownership group that took charge in 2013 and the club moved into a magnificent new arena in the Holy City, Jerusalem started to aim much higher. Led by Donta Smith, Lior Eliyahu and Yotam Halperin, Jerusalem won its first-ever Israeli League championship in 2015 by downing Hapoel Eilat in the finals. Last season Jerusalem looked poised for a repeat after placing first at the end of the Israeli regular season, but was upset in the single-game final at home. Now Jerusalem looks to compete for glory in the Eurocup, too.

Trophy Case

ULEB Cup: 2003-04
Israeli National League: 2014-15
Israeli National Cup: 1996, 1997, 2007, 2008