Did you know that ...? Olympiacos Piraeus

May 11, 2017 by Euroleague.net Print
Did you know that ...? Olympiacos Piraeus


...Olympiacos is at its 10th Final Four? Its last six appearances have come over the nine years - 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2017. Olympiacos has the chance to win its fourth EuroLeague title.

...Olympiacos is one of the four teams that have successfully defended the EuroLeague crown in the Final Four era? Olympiacos won back-to-back EuroLeague titles in 2012 and 2013. Olimpia Milano (1987, 1988), KK Split (1989, 1990, 1991) and Maccabi Tel Aviv (2004, 2005) have also defended the title in the Final Four era. CSKA Moscow can join the list if it lifts the trophy in Istanbul.

...Olympiacos won the 2012 EuroLeague title at Sinan Erdem Arena, which is also home of the 2017 EuroLeague Final Four? Olympiacos rallied from a 19-point deficit to edge CSKA 61-62 on a game-winning floater by Georgios Printezis.

...Vassilis Spanoulis is a three-time Final Four MVP? He first won the award with Panathinaikos in 2009 and later with Olympiacos in 2012 and 2013. Toni Kukoc (Split 1990, 1991; Benetton 1993) is the only other player to have won three Final Four MVP awards.

...Spanoulis is one of three players to have won the EuroLeague with both Olympiacos and Panathinaikos? Spanoulis won the competition with Panathinaikos in 2009 and with Olympiacos in 2012 and 2013. Four other players have won the EuroLeague with both teams: Stratos Perperoglou, Giorgi Shermadini, Lazaros Papadopoulos and Dimitris Papanikolaou.

...four Olympiacos players have won back-to-back EuroLeague titles together? Vassilis Spanoulis, Georgios Printezis, Kostas Papanikolaou and Vangelis Mantzaris won the competition in 2012 and 2013. Kyle Hines of CSKA Moscow and Pero Antic and Kostas Sloukas of Fenerbahce Istanbul also won back-to-back EuroLeague titles with Olympiacos and will play at this year’s Final Four.

...head coach Ioannis Sfairopoulos was an assistant coach with CSKA Moscow during the 2011-12 season? CSKA reached the EuroLeague championship game, but lost to Olympiacos. Sfairopoulos led Olympiacos past CSKA in the 2015 EuroLeague semifinals.

...six current Olympiacos players – Vassilis Spanoulis, Ioannis Papapetrou, Georgios Printezis, Dimitrios Agravanis, Vangelis Mantzaris and Matt Lojeski – played in the 2015 EuroLeague championship game? Another player from that squad, Othello Hunter, is at this year's Final Four with Real Madrid.

... Vassilis Spanoulis has never lost a Final Four semifinal? He has played four semifinals and won them all (Panathinaikos 2009, Olympiacos 2012, 2013 and 2015).

...Spanoulis is 4-0 against CSKA in Final Four action? He beat CSKA with Panathinaikos in the 2009 championship game and with Olympiacos in the 2012 championship game and the 2013 and 2015 semifinals.

...Spanoulis is ranked second in scoring in EuroLeague history? He has scored 3,377 points in his career and trails only Juan Carlos Navarro (4,000) of FC Barcelona Lassa.

...Spanoulis is ranked second in career assists (1,138), first in fouls drawn (1,252) and free throws made (1,156), seventh in three-point shots made (366) and ninth in games played (251)?

...Olympiacos is the only EuroLeague team with two active players with more than 2,000 points scored? Spanoulis (3,377) is joined by Printezis (2,237).

...Khem Birch is the second-best per-minute rebounder in the 2016-17 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague? He averages 12.9 rebounds per 40 minutes.

...Spanoulis ranks second in assists this season (6.0 apg.), only trailing Milos Teodosic of CSKA Moscow (7.0 apg.)?

...Kostas Papanikolaou is one of four Rising Star Trophy winners at this Final Four. He is joined by newly crowned Rising Star Luka Doncic and Rudy Fernandez, both of Real Madrid, and Bogdan Bogdanovic of Fenerbahce Istanbul.

...Olympiacos leads the 2016-17 EuroLeague in total rebounds with an average of 37.4 per game? It also has the second-best defense, allowing just 73.6 points per game, and limited opponents to a league-low 46.9% two-point shooting percentage.

...Olympiacos is the only team with former players on all other three Final Four teams? Othello Hunter of Real Madrid, Kostas Sloukas and Pero Antic of Fenerbahce Istanbul and Milos Teodosic and Kyle Hines of CSKA Moscow all played for Olympiacos in the past. And all of them reached a EuroLeague title game with the team! Sloukas, Antic and Hines won back-to-back EuroLeague titles with the Reds in 2012 and 2013.