2010 Final Four referees named

Apr 21, 2010 by Euroleague.net Print
A group of referees with a wealth of experience will officiate the games of the 2010 Final Four in Paris, Euroleague Basketball has announced. Among the eight referees selected – all from different countries – six have previously officiated in a continental final and three have refereed the Euroleague title game. The full list of referees named is Shmuel Bachar of Israel, Matej Boltauzer of Slovenia, Romualdas Brazauskas of Lithuania, David Chambon of France, Christos Christodoulou of Greece, Fabio Facchini of Italy, Daniel Hierrezuelo of Spain and Olegs Latisevs of Latvia. Returning from last year's crew are Bachar and Brazauskas, who officiated in the 2009 Euroleague final in Berlin. For Brazauskas, this will be a sixth Final Four since the 2001-02 season. He has also officiated the 1997 and 2000 top continental finals as well as the 2008 Olympic final. Hierrezuelo refereed the 2008 Euroleague title game in Madrid. Meanwhile, Facchini officiated Final Fours in 2005 Moscow and 2006 Prague, as well as the at the 2008 Eurocup Final Eight. Latisevs and Chambon took part in the 2009 Eurocup Final Eight, while Christodoulou worked the same tournament a year earlier. The Euroleague refereeing department selected these eight referees with the goal to both to reward professional competency and diversify the pool of referees with experience in European basketball’s signature event. Along with refereeing assignments, the appointment of two game commissioners for the Final Four was announced. They are Goran Radonjic (France) and Alessandro Teofili (Italy). The Final Four will be held from Friday May 7 to Sunday May 9 at the Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy in the French capital and features the best teams of the Euroelague season: CSKA Moscow, Olympiacos Piraeus, Partizan Belgrade and Regal FC Barcelona.

Shmuel Bachar
Matej Boltauzer
Romualdas Brazauskas
David Chambon
Sasa Pukl
Fabio Facchini
Daniel Hierrezuelo
Olegs Latisevs