2016-17 Team Profile: FC Barcelona Lassa

Jul 19, 2016 by Euroleague.net Print
2016-17 Team Profile: FC Barcelona Lassa

FC Barcelona Lassa had a really solid season but a key overtime loss prevented the team from making it to the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Final Four for the 15th time. Barcelona signed experienced players like Stratos Perperoglou, Pau Ribas and Carlos Arroyo to be competitive right away, and that is exactly what happened. Barcelona bounced back from an initial road loss against Pinar Karsiyaka Izmir by winning its next 6 games to qualify to the Top 16 without further problems. A road loss against Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar, however, prevented the team from clinching first place, sending Barcelona to arguably the hardest Top 16 group ever. Justin Doellman's game-winning shots against Real Madrid and CSKA Moscow allowed Barcelona to reach the last two games with all options open. Barcelona finished the Top 16 in style, with back-to-back wins against Brose Baskets Bamberg and Zalgiris Kaunas to rank third overall. Once in the playoffs against Lokomotiv, Barcelona stole the home court advantage and moved up to 2-1 with a convincing 82-70 win in Game 3. A jumper by Juan Carlos Navarro forced overtime in Game 4 but Lokomotiv prevailed, 80-92, and went on to win Game 5, 81-67, stopping Barcelona's Euroleague season.


2000-01 Euroleague 8-4 Eighthfinals
2001-02 Euroleague 14-6 Top 16
2002-03 Euroleague 18-4 Champion
2003-04 Euroleague 14-6 Top 16
2004-05 Euroleague 11-9 Top 16
2005-06 Euroleague 14-11 Semifinals
2006-07 Euroleague 14-9 Playoffs
2007-08 Euroleague 13-10 Playoffs
2008-09 Euroleague 18-5 Semifinals
2009-10 Euroleague 20-2 Champion
2010-11 Euroleague 14-6 Playoffs
2011-12 Euroleague 19-2 Semifinals
2012-13 Euroleague 25-6 Semifinals
2013-14 Euroleague 23-6 Semifinals
2014-15 Euroleague 21-7 Playoffs
2015-16 Euroleague 16-13 Playoffs
TOTAL: 262-106


FC Barcelona Lassa comes off a underwhelming season in which the team was close to reach its main goals, but fell out short. Barcelona was one win away from making it to the Final Four, leading 1-2 in its best-of-five playoffs series against Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar, but could not make it to Berlin. Barcelona won the Spanish Supercup early in the season and went back to the Spanish League finals, losing against archrivals Real Madrid despite having the home court advantage. The club began its haul of trophies in the 1940s, a decade that saw it lift the Copa del Rey five times. Barcelona’s next era of greatness came in the 1980s, led by Nacho Solozabal, Chicho Sibilio and Juan Antonio "Epi" San Epifanio. Barcelona reached the 1984 Euroleague final before falling to Roma and then won the Saporta Cup in both 1985 and 1986 plus the Korac Cup the following season. Despite its successes, Barcelona still longed for Euroleague glory. The club added Audie Norris and made it to three straight Euroleague Final Fours from 1989 to 1991, but lost to eventual champion Split each time – including twice in the final. Barcelona returned three more times to the Final Four in the 1990s alone, but came up short each time. In 1999, Barcelona won a second Korac Cup, but 2000 brought with it more Final Four disappointment. That all changed in 2003 when, with the city hosting the Final Four at Palau Sant Jordi, the great Dejan Bodiroga teamed with Gregor Fucka, Sarunas Jasikevicius and Juan Carlos Navarro under Coach Svetislav Pesic to carry Barca past Benetton Treviso for its first Euroleague crown. Barcelona returned to the Final Four again in 2006 and won the Copa del Rey in 2007. In the 2008-09 season, with Xavi Pascual already head coach, Barcelona won yet another Spanish League title and returned to the Final Four, but lost again to CSKA. The 2009-10 season was a memorable one for Barcelona as the likes of Navarro, Ricky Rubio, Erazem Lorbek and Pete Mickeal helped make the team among the best Euroleague champions ever with an incredible 20-2 record. Panathinaikos stopped Barcelona in the 2011 playoffs and prevented the club from returning to a Palau Sant Jordi Final Four. Olympiacos knocked Barca out in the 2012 Final Four in Istanbul and Madrid stood in the club's way in the 2013 and 2014 Euroleague semifinals. Even so, Barcelona won the Spanish League and Copa double in 2011, another league trophy in 2012, the Copa in 2013 and the Spanish championship in 2014. Barcelona has been to the Final Four 14 times since 1988, including five of the last eight years. The club, however, only added one Spanish Supercup title in the last two years and that will be the next goal - challenge for every title available and of course, fight for a third continental crown.

Trophy Case

Euroleague: 2003, 2010
Korac Cup: 1987, 1999
Saporta Cup: 1985, 1986
Spanish National League: 1958-59, 1980-81, 1982-83, 1986-87, 1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1994-95, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2013-14
Spanish National Cup: 1943, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1959, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1994, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2013
Spanish Supercup: 1987-88, 2004-05, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2015-16