Club profile: FC Barcelona

Aug 01, 2019 by Print

FC Barcelona took a major step towards a return to its old standards in the 2018-19 season as it challenged for every title available. The club brought in experienced players like Kevin Pangos, Chris Singleton and Kyle Kuric and Barcelona enjoyed a good start in the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague by winning five of its first seven games. Barcelona bounced back after a four-game losing streak to win nine of its next 11 and qualify to the playoffs in advance. Barca finished the regular season in fifth place with an 18-12 record. It was Barcelona's first playoff appearance under the new format. Coach Svetislav Pesic's men stole home-court advantage from Anadolu Efes Istanbul, but then lost in Game 3 at home and Game 5 in Turkey, thus missing its chance to reach the Final Four for the first time since 2014. Barcelona was competitive in domestic action; it won the Spanish Copa del Rey by downing Real Madrid 94-93 in overtime with Thomas Heurtel earning MVP honors. Real took revenge in the Spanish League finals. Still, Barcelona managed to add new titles and raise its competitive level in a 2018-19 season that could be a turning point for the EuroLeague power.


2018-19 EuroLeague 20-15 Playoffs
2017-18 EuroLeague 11-19 Regular Season
2016-17 EuroLeague 12-18 Regular Season
2015-16 EuroLeague 16-13 Playoffs
2014-15 EuroLeague 21-7 Playoffs
2013-14 EuroLeague 23-6 Semifinals
2012-13 EuroLeague 25-6 Semifinals
2011-12 EuroLeague 19-2 Semifinals
2010-11 EuroLeague 14-6 Playoffs
2009-10 EuroLeague 20-2 Champion
2008-09 EuroLeague 18-5 Semifinals
2007-08 EuroLeague 13-10 Playoffs
2006-07 EuroLeague 14-9 Playoffs
2005-06 EuroLeague 14-11 Semifinals
2004-05 EuroLeague 11-9 Top 16
2003-04 EuroLeague 14-6 Top 16
2002-03 EuroLeague 18-4 Champion
2001-02 EuroLeague 14-6 Top 16
2000-01 EuroLeague 8-4 Eighthfinals
TOTAL: 463 305-158

FC Barcelona is one of the biggest and most-respected sporting clubs in the world and its basketball section has been important to its legacy. The club began its haul of trophies in the 1940s, a decade that saw it lift the Copa del Rey five times. Barcelona's next era of greatness came in the 1980s, led by Nacho Solozabal, Chicho Sibilio and Juan Antonio "Epi" San Epifanio. Barcelona reached the 1984 EuroLeague final before falling to Rome and then won the Saporta Cup in both 1985 and 1986 plus the Korac Cup the following season. Despite its successes, Barcelona still longed for EuroLeague glory. The club added Audie Norris and made it to three straight EuroLeague Final Fours from 1989 to 1991, but lost to eventual champion Split each time – including twice in the championship game. Barcelona returned three more times to the Final Four in the 1990s alone and came up short each time. In 1999, Barcelona won a second Korac Cup, but 2000 brought with it more Final Four disappointment. That all changed in 2003 when, with the city hosting the Final Four at Palau Sant Jordi, the great Dejan Bodiroga teamed with Gregor Fucka, Sarunas Jasikevicius and Juan Carlos Navarro under Coach Svetislav Pesic to carry Barca past Benetton Treviso for its first EuroLeague crown. Barcelona returned to the Final Four again in 2006 and won the Copa del Rey in 2007. In the 2008-09 season, with Xavi Pascual as head coach, Barcelona won yet another Spanish League title and returned to the Final Four, but lost to CSKA Moscow. The 2009-10 season was a memorable one for Barcelona as the likes of Navarro, Ricky Rubio, Erazem Lorbek and Pete Mickeal helped put the team among the greatest EuroLeague champions ever with an incredible 20-2 record. Panathinaikos Athens stopped Barcelona in the 2011 playoffs and prevented the club from returning to a Palau Sant Jordi Final Four. Olympiacos Piraeus knocked Barca out in the 2012 Final Four in Istanbul and Real Madrid stood in the club's way in the 2013 and 2014 EuroLeague semifinals. Even so, Barcelona won the Spanish League and Cup double in 2011, another league trophy in 2012, Cup in 2013 and Spanish championship in 2014. Barcelona was one win away from making it to the 2016 Final Four after leading 1-2 in its best-of-five playoffs series against Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar, but did not get the ticket to Berlin. Nevertheless, Barcelona has been to the Final Four 14 times since 1988. After adding Copa Del Rey titles in each of the last two seasons, Barcelona is looking to challenge for every title available in 2020.

Trophy Case

Euroleague: 2003, 2010
Korac Cup: 1987, 1999
Saporta Cup: 1985, 1986
Spanish National League: 1958-59, 1980-81, 1982-83, 1986-87, 1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1994-95, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2013-14
Spanish National Cup "Copa del Rey": 1943, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1959, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1994, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2018, 2019
Spanish Supercup "Supercopa": 1987-88, 2004-05, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2015-16